at Mulbarton Bridge
Some Directory entries for Bracon Ash include a blacksmith - and he is described as 'on Turnpike' or 'near bridge' or 'near Mulbarton'. In fact the actual blacksmith's forge was over the boundary in Mulbarton parish but the blacksmith's house - the fine thatched Forge Cottage - was within the parish of Bracon Ash. The boundary follows a strange route in this corner - maybe as the course of the stream changed. One result is that some Directories list the Bracon Ash blacksmith under Mulbarton!
Extract from a large-scale Ordnance Survey map on the junction of B1113 and the East Carleton Road. The parish boundary is shown with a dotted line and does not follow the stream.
The forge itself is an elegant brick building that probably dates from the 1830s. The picturesque thatched Forge Cottage is far older.
Directory entries for Bracon Ash and Mulbarton list a number of blacksmiths:
James Rice - blacksmith (Whites, 1845)
Robert Rice - listed as wheelwright and beerhouse keeper in 1845;
Mrs. Elizabeth Rice - listed as blacksmith (1865)
Robert Rice - blacksmith (1869, 1875, 1877, 1883 and 1892)
Everett Eke - blacksmith (1904, 1908)
George Goward - blacksmith (1922) and listed as 'now also agriculture implement agent and acetylene welder' in the 1937 Kelly's Directory.
Forge Cottage on the old Turnpike road (now the B1113) with the brick forge to the left. The parish boundary of Bracon Ash and Mulbarton runs between the two buildings.
In 1920, the Steward family sold the East Carleton Estate, including the forge and Forge Cottage:
LOT 20: The Picturesque Cottage and Smithy with Pasture and Arable Land attached... Situated on Mulbarton Common with frontage to the main road and in the Parishes of Mulbarton and Bracon Ash. The Cottage is picturesquely built of brick with a thatched roof. It has two staircases...three bed rooms, two sitting rooms, back kitchen... water from pump. Excellent garden at back and front.
The brick and tiled Blacksmith's shop consists of Forge House with two forges, Coal House... Shed... two-stall Stable, Hay House, Trap House... Hay Shed, etc.
Meadow and Arable land at rear.... Total 4.361 acres. Let to Mr. G. Goward on a Yearly Tenancy at the rent of £25 pa.
George Goward obviously took the opportunity to buy the freehold, which was passed on to his son, William (known to everyone as Billy).
Billy Goward is the blacksmith people remember. Richard Berney (of Bracon Hall) once commented that he learned more colourful language from Billy Goward than from anyone else! He was the first man to introduce Acetylene welding in the Eastern Counties and was a gold-medallist for horse-shoeing. He was elected Chairman of the Master Farriers' Association in the Eastern Counties, which involved a lot of travelling to annual conferences and meetings around the country. He was presented to the King at the Royal Norfolk Show at Keswick - and villagers reported that they made great effort to teach Billy to talk politely and without swearing in his usual manner!
The forge closed in the mid-60s (below is one of his last bills). Billy Goward died on 30th Dec. 1968. The land was sold for housing and Mrs. Goward had a bungalow built for herself on the corner of Forge Orchards facing the Common.
There is more about the blacksmith on the Mulbarton History website.